Keeping pots cool

Kryptonite

Hello everyone,

Apologies if i am posting this in the wrong place. My grow house is quite small and gets a lot of direct sun for almost the whole day and i don't want the pots to overheat. [un]fortunately, they are all black plastic. Is there a way i can keep the pots and the substrate cool over the summer? Would putting the pot inside and empty pot of the same type (so the outer one heats up and the inner one is a bit cooler) be any help?

Any thoughts or advise would be much appreciated.

Regards

Edited by Kryptonite

Hi there...I really don't think heat should be a too big of a problem as long as you keep them wet (the Cobraplant of course being an exception), or have you had problems in the past?

No not really--it's my first year of growing them in the growhouse. Last year i grew them indoors. It was just something someone mentioned to me got me thinking. Am still very much a beginner and thought it best to check!

Thank you for the reply Amar :)

One trick I learned is to generously cover the top with perlite to reflect the suns heat inducing rays. The only problem is that, as we all know it, perlite floats away when watered, so maybe a fine mesh nylon can be placed on top to hold perlite. In Japan, they designed a special planter box for Darlingtonia where it's a pot inside a box that looks a lot like a tissue(Kleenex) holder. The idea is that the planted Cobra plant is inside this white(reflective) box that has a hole on top for the plant to grow out of, in turn cooling the roots. here is a rough drawing I made of it since I can't find a photo of it, pardon the drawing cause I'm not James :rolleyes:

th_CobraPlanterBox.jpg

Edited by dchasselblad74

You can clad the outside of the pots with Mylar and then for a topping use white aquarium gravel,this is what I do for my D Regia and my Darlingtonias-works well.

Mylar!!!! Yes...That is actually a brilliant idea...I will try this :sweat: