Brochinnea reducta from seed, any experience?

Vertigo

• 2 weeks later...

Talk about coincedence!

i harvested B. reducta seeds (sorry,not for me but for the Drosera

seedbank) last week. Two seedcapsules matured (out of hundreds)

to reveal string-like seeds. Brocchinias are a real pain in the thing to

pollinate so I was quite disappointed to find my labour had only partially

payed of. Any advise on getting them started would be wellcome, the

Belgian CP-posse thanks you.

Frederick

• 1 month later...

Hello Frederick, Vertitgo & all,

Sorry for the late comments but I'm a newbie here.

I have grown B. reducta from seed with about the same results as I have gotten with other dry seeded bromeliads. They germinate readily from fresh seed, but fungus gets many seedlings.

Frederick you mention string like seeds in very few pollinated capsules. In my experience the seeds were small, dark brown samara, and quite numerous. My Catopsis berteroniana has what I might call string like seed or plumose appendages (Wunderlin) and white, like Tillandsia, when harvested, but most capsules matured for me.

I am now wondering if I have a B. reducta, because I cannot find any seed information for this species available in any databanks.

Does anyone have a source of published information with complete description of this species?

Steve

• 4 years later...
Guest tuteca
Talk about coincedence!

i harvested B. reducta seeds (sorry,not for me but for the Drosera

seedbank) last week. Two seedcapsules matured (out of hundreds)

to reveal string-like seeds. Brocchinias are a real pain in the thing to

pollinate so I was quite disappointed to find my labour had only partially

payed of. Any advise on getting them started would be wellcome, the

Belgian CP-posse thanks you.

Frederick

Hi!!! :man_in_love: