Sign in to follow this  
courtauld

Hello from Essex carnivorous plant terrarium

Hello everyone. I am a school biology technician and last March I set up a carnivorous plant terrarium in an old fish tank in our Science reception. I put about 10 cm of gravel on the bottom and filled with distilled water to 1cm over the gravel. I then placed the plants in their pots in the gravel. We have Sarracenia Jutathip Soper, Readii, Oreopila minor, Catesbii, Purpurea. Also Drosera alicae, binata and capensis. And a Nepenthes ventrata , two Venus fly traps and a Cephalotus follicularis. Last year they looked really good and everyone enjoyed them.

Most of them have died back during the winter. The Drosera alicae has looked really good until last week when it has turned a dull red and lost all its dew. What I should do with it now? I haven't fed any of the plants with anything. What should I be feeding them with and how often? They haven't outgrown their pots but should I repot them?

I have joined this forum as I am not sure what to do with the plants from now on.

From Courtauld.

IMG_0103_zps95bebf9f.jpg

IMG_0101_zps96b93a8e.jpg

IMG_0106_zpsd81e11a7.jpgIMG_0104_zpse64cc594.jpg

IMG_0102_zps9964c17c.jpg

Edited by courtauld

I have some information that might be helpful, during the dormancy period, they don't need to be fed, they just need to be kept watered with rain water, or distilled water. What ever you do, NEVER USE TAP WATER!!!

When they come out of hibernation, they need about 8 hours of sunlight a day, if we are not getting that much sunlight, a 40 watt daylight bulb will give them the light and the heat they need. Also when they are out of hibernation, ensure they are still watered with either rain water or distilled water. The best thing you can do is place them in a saucer full or rain water or distilled water.