What plants are suitable?

Cornish

I'm an absolute beginner creating a bog garden in a "half-barrel" type wooden container. Diameter of container is 15 1/2" and 13" deep.

Only plants I have at the moment are 2 VFTs which have done well in pots outdoors, where I would like to position the bog garden eventually.

The location can get a tad windy occasionally, so I want hardy plants that will be OK in VFT compost, but not get too high.

Any suggestions gratefully received?

Thanks

Phil

With the exception of the Cephalotus and Heliamphora, all of the plants in my grow list are grown outdoors. Most stay outdoors year-round, only the Sarracenia minor, S. psitticina, Drosera capensis, D. binata var. multifida f. extrema and filiformis are removed and spend their winter in an unheated (but sheltered) garage.

Haven't lost any plants to the winter in the past three years (touch wood!).

Hope this helps.

Howard

• Like 1

Thanks for the reply Howard - unfortunately when I click your "Grow list" link, I get an error page containing "You do not have permission to view this topic."

It maybe because I only registered today - perhaps if Admin sees this they can confirm.

Phil

Hi Phil,

It may be your recent registration is preventing you from viewing the growlist, or the link may be faulty (doesn't appear to be for me, but I don't know about others). In the meantime, here is the growlist:

Cheers,

Howard

PS And by the way 'Welcome!"

Cephalotus

• follicularis

Darlingtonia

• californica

Dionaea

• muscipula (standard clone)
  • muscipula (giant trap erect form)
  • muscipula (large green form)
  • muscipula (red line form)
  • muscipula ('Royal Red' form)

Drosera

• anglica
  • binata
  • binata var. multifida
  • binata var. multifida f. extrema
  • capensis (pale form)
  • capensis (typical form)
  • filiformis
  • filiformis var. tracyi
  • rotundifolia
  • binata var. multifida
  • nidiformis
  • intermedia
  • filiformis (all red form)

• x hybrida