New to Pinguicula

A few weeks back I received my first few pings from a nursery in Europe. I put them in with my lowland Nepenthes for now to let them settle in. Since it is winter here now should I let the plants go dormant or would it be alright to keep them going until next winter?

The plants are still quite small and I don't want to do the wrong thing. Would it harm them if they were artificially put through two summer seasons before being allowed to go dormant?

Thanks!

Nadja

Thanks Jim!

So it's obviously not a good idea to keep them growing...

Can I just leave them outside? It does get pretty cold here in July probably around 2° celsius at night.

If they don't need artificial light during their dormancy I could also leave them on a windowsill inside the house would that work?

Sorry I am sure all this was asked before, just another total newbie to pings!

They are all mexican pinguicula. These are the species I have:

P.agnata x Pinguicula gracilis

P.gracilis x Pinguicula 'Sethos'

P.laueana

P.spec. Import Mexico

My own experience dictates that cultivating them outside is about as successful as the driving record of Toonces the Cat". It starts off okay and then goes downhill... or over a hill after that.

My own experience dictates that cultivating them outside is about as successful as the driving record of Toonces the Cat". It starts off okay and then goes downhill... or over a hill after that.

LOL ok, I'll only sacrifice one or two plants to experiment then. Do you have an idea on why this does not work so well for you?

Just curious as my conditions would be a bit different to yours.

What about in a cold frame? Might protect the plants from frost damage (assuming temperature only barely drops below 0c) and rotting due to too wet conditions (humidity might be an issue though).

I don't have a cold frame.... but I do have a working relationship with a wholesale greenhouse / nursery, that can help me out with fridge temp dormancy plants.