Jump to content



Photo
- - - - -

Water from Brita filters


  • Please log in to reply
37 replies to this topic

#21 Tarek

 
Tarek
  • Full Members
  • 156 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:United Kingdom - West Yorkshire
  • Interests:Family; CA`p ; Fishing ; IT ; Movies ; Travel and many others :)
 

Posted 22 February 2012 - 23:12 PM

This like water reservoir? :) I see thinks like that, are you saying this one can be connected straight to rain pipe?
I now be waiting this meter and if everything be alright, and other members says, it`s Ok, than i leave my Brita filter.

#22 Madball

 
Madball
  • Full Members
  • 41 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Netherlands
 

Posted 22 February 2012 - 23:18 PM

This like water reservoir? :) I see thinks like that, are you saying this one can be connected straight to rain pipe?
I now be waiting this meter and if everything be alright, and other members says, it`s Ok, than i leave my Brita filter.


Well you have to buy a extra piece with it you cut a part out of you're standard pipe place it in between and when the water tank is full the water will go just into the normal drain till you take water out of it again and then it can fill up again.

#23 Tarek

 
Tarek
  • Full Members
  • 156 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:United Kingdom - West Yorkshire
  • Interests:Family; CA`p ; Fishing ; IT ; Movies ; Travel and many others :)
 

Posted 25 February 2012 - 21:42 PM

Hello again everybody. Help me please find TDS water meter, where i can find it? In eBay i just checked, ant they says all of them from China or Hong Kong.

#24 jesse

 
jesse
  • Full Members
  • 235 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Elmshorn (Germany)
 

Posted 25 February 2012 - 23:08 PM

Help me please find TDS water meter, where i can find it? In eBay i just checked, ant they says all of them from China or Hong Kong.


What's wrong with China or Hong Kong?
Too cheap or too long time of delivery?

If I do a search at eBay, I see also item locations like:
- Stirling, United Kingdom
- HORNCASTLE, United Kingdom
- Berkshire, United Kingdom

OMG, just search at ebay for "conductivity meter" or "conductivity tester" instead of "TDS meter"!
Most likely you can see the same on the search result list on eBay as I do.

BTW: Those thingies sent from UK to UK are also originated from China.
But they are not as cheap if you buy from a vendor in UK.

#25 mobile

 
mobile
  • Global Moderator
  • 4,415 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Aberdeenshire, Scotland.
  • Interests:Carnivorous plants & hydroculture.
 

Posted 26 February 2012 - 10:14 AM

Hello again everybody. Help me please find TDS water meter, where i can find it? In eBay i just checked, ant they says all of them from China or Hong Kong.

Personally, I would search eBay for 'TDS meter', as it is probably TDS PPM that you want to measure. I see results for <£8 from UK sellers.

#26 gardenofeden

 
gardenofeden
  • Full Members
  • 4,697 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:York, England
 

Posted 26 February 2012 - 11:01 AM

here you go TDS meter
I have this meter and it works fine (not from this seller though)

Edited by gardenofeden, 26 February 2012 - 11:06 AM.


#27 Tarek

 
Tarek
  • Full Members
  • 156 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:United Kingdom - West Yorkshire
  • Interests:Family; CA`p ; Fishing ; IT ; Movies ; Travel and many others :)
 

Posted 26 February 2012 - 11:01 AM

What's wrong with China or Hong Kong?
Too cheap or too long time of delivery?

If I do a search at eBay, I see also item locations like:
- Stirling, United Kingdom
- HORNCASTLE, United Kingdom
- Berkshire, United Kingdom

OMG, just search at ebay for "conductivity meter" or "conductivity tester" instead of "TDS meter"!
Most likely you can see the same on the search result list on eBay as I do.

BTW: Those thingies sent from UK to UK are also originated from China.
But they are not as cheap if you buy from a vendor in UK.


Nothing bad with them, but it`s take forever to delivery... And i read in feedbacks , things work only one day :( .

Don`t think, that i have something against China ;)

"conductivity meter" or "conductivity tester" is same like TDS ?

Personally, I would search eBay for 'TDS meter', as it is probably TDS PPM that you want to measure. I see results for <£8 from UK sellers.


When you press on seller, from uk and go in feedback, lot of negatives feedbacks :( who says, item not arrive, item arive after 3 weeks, or it`s work one day only.



Best if somebody give link with one they have bought and be no problem, please ;) .

Find one , i think good - This one , what do you think?

Edited by Tarek, 26 February 2012 - 11:04 AM.


#28 mobile

 
mobile
  • Global Moderator
  • 4,415 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Aberdeenshire, Scotland.
  • Interests:Carnivorous plants & hydroculture.
 

Posted 26 February 2012 - 13:11 PM

here you go TDS meter
I have this meter and it works fine (not from this seller though)

Some negative feedback saying goods dispatched from China. Drop-shipper maybe?




#29 Tarek

 
Tarek
  • Full Members
  • 156 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:United Kingdom - West Yorkshire
  • Interests:Family; CA`p ; Fishing ; IT ; Movies ; Travel and many others :)
 

Posted 27 February 2012 - 18:34 PM

What are you think about his one gTDS3

As well in next few weeks i get rain pipe together with storage tank, I can collect rain water now :) .

#30 Tarek

 
Tarek
  • Full Members
  • 156 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:United Kingdom - West Yorkshire
  • Interests:Family; CA`p ; Fishing ; IT ; Movies ; Travel and many others :)
 

Posted 03 March 2012 - 11:04 AM

I check water TDS :) from sink show to me 78 , after Brita filter 71 ppm :))) i think is very good, yes? :)

#31 mobile

 
mobile
  • Global Moderator
  • 4,415 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Aberdeenshire, Scotland.
  • Interests:Carnivorous plants & hydroculture.
 

Posted 03 March 2012 - 11:19 AM

Yes, a TDS of 71-78ppm is very good. Although your tap water TDS is good, you should probably still keep using the Brita filter, as it will remove some chemicals.

#32 Tarek

 
Tarek
  • Full Members
  • 156 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:United Kingdom - West Yorkshire
  • Interests:Family; CA`p ; Fishing ; IT ; Movies ; Travel and many others :)
 

Posted 03 March 2012 - 11:23 AM

Thank You for quick answer and help.

Yes, i will use Brita filter like you advice. Soon, I get rainpipe with rainwater collector tank in my back garden, than i check that water as well and give information in this topic.

What ppm are best to CAp ? How do you think, i need some more test for chemicals or don`t worry about that?

Thx

#33 mobile

 
mobile
  • Global Moderator
  • 4,415 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Aberdeenshire, Scotland.
  • Interests:Carnivorous plants & hydroculture.
 

Posted 03 March 2012 - 11:25 AM

<100ppm seems to be the accepted consensus. I wouldn't bother about testing for other chemicals.

#34 Tarek

 
Tarek
  • Full Members
  • 156 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:United Kingdom - West Yorkshire
  • Interests:Family; CA`p ; Fishing ; IT ; Movies ; Travel and many others :)
 

Posted 03 March 2012 - 15:22 PM

Ok, i see. I tried to check tray in greenhouse, what not changed couple of weeks, the show me 170 ppm :vampire: going to change now :D .

#35 Tarek

 
Tarek
  • Full Members
  • 156 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:United Kingdom - West Yorkshire
  • Interests:Family; CA`p ; Fishing ; IT ; Movies ; Travel and many others :)
 

Posted 04 March 2012 - 10:07 AM

A what about Calibrate? I didn`t do it. How to do it? Because i see on back of TDS meter says : Calibrate with NaCl

In one Russian forum one man says, that 71ppm , not good for long time watering for droseras, dioneas. What you think about that?

#36 ada

 
ada
  • Full Members
  • 1,738 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:sheffield
  • Interests:"green sarracenia"
 

Posted 04 March 2012 - 10:35 AM

Tarek, i think you are making growing cp's a bit too difficult for yourself.

I live not far away in sheffield.I have grown these plants for over 20years and never once owned a tds meter or even checked the ppm levels.

Just collect and use rain water. it really is that simple.
When i have occasionally run short,i have used water straight from the tap.Some water is better than none.
ada

#37 Tarek

 
Tarek
  • Full Members
  • 156 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:United Kingdom - West Yorkshire
  • Interests:Family; CA`p ; Fishing ; IT ; Movies ; Travel and many others :)
 

Posted 04 March 2012 - 10:43 AM

Tarek, i think you are making growing cp's a bit too difficult for yourself.

I live not far away in sheffield.I have grown these plants for over 20years and never once owned a tds meter or even checked the ppm levels.

Just collect and use rain water. it really is that simple.
When i have occasionally run short,i have used water straight from the tap.Some water is better than none.
ada



Yes, sometimes and I think that i to much wanna to know about everything :) , but now my plants, like droseras are in dormancy, and lot of peoples says, that they not must go to dormancy, and now i try to find any reason, what are bed for my plants :) .
Now when i get rain pipe in my back garden with water collector, than maybe i can relax :D .
How do you collect water, what you use for collection ?


Rainwater 57ppm

Edited by Tarek, 04 March 2012 - 12:01 PM.


#38 ada

 
ada
  • Full Members
  • 1,738 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:sheffield
  • Interests:"green sarracenia"
 

Posted 04 March 2012 - 12:04 PM

I collect water from the gutter of my house into an old plastic wheely bin and the same from my greenhouse.