Overpotting CPs

linuxman

Having just re-seen the thread on repotting sarras reminded me of query I've had for a while. Do other growers find that overpotting young plants inhibits their growth? I've seen this with vfts whcih can get smaller and sometimes die. Also small sarracenia divisions in big pots seem to sulk for quite a while lasting even into years! Anybody else got any experiences thaey want to share?

• Like 1

I have no experiences to share sorry Martin, but i look at it this way, plants aren't 'potted' in the wild and therefore have no physical bounderies.

Surely that answers any questions ?

I've had some interesting results with my nepenthes though. A batch of my self sown sibuyanensis x burkei seedlings were planted in 5cm pots and a random selection were planted in 23cm pond baskets when they were all just 1.5cm in diameter. I found that the ones planted in the way oversized 23cm baskets grew quicker. The only thing i can think of that could explain this, is a more even temperature and moistness in the larger mass of the pond baskets. The seedlings in the small 5cm pots probably have a greater temperature and moistness fluctuation which maybe inhibits the growth rate ? That's the only reason i can come up with, they're side by side in identical conditions in the greenhouse.

Of course, it may not apply to 'bog plants' i'm not sure.

Martin,Welshy, I think neps are more fussy than sarra's overall and what Welshy says about temps/moisture makes sense for them.

I have found repotting sarra seedlings always gives them a boost if you are using good quality peat.In fact i have just repotted some this weekend but they were in the same pot for over a year,i waited while they had grown a few pitchers this year before doing it.

I never pot them into a massive or oversized pot,just the next size up.The only time i found they didn't grow when repotted was when i used moorland gold.