Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
tropicbreeze

Nerw Nepenthes

7 posts in this topic

I'm new to Nepenthes but I recently bought one from one of the big stores. I'm assuming it's a ventricosa. Didn't realise it at first but it's flowering, male. It has one good pitcher and 2 that are past their 'use by date'. Pitcher and leaves are quite large.

The soil in the pot is very light but full of slow release fertiliser. Looked like there had been a handful of fertiliser thrown on the top of the soil as well. So my main question is should I replace the soil (and the slow release fertiliser)? I understand Nepenthes like most cps don't like inorganic fertilisers.

There are red brown blotches on some of the leaves, and a larger blotch which looks like sunburn. I don't know whether the smaller blotches are natural or a result of the fertiliser.

cp_n_17030102.jpg

cp_n_17030103.jpg

cp_n_17030105.jpg

Hi  i'm not a neps expert too, to me it look more a x miranda. If i'm not wrong ,from the photo, there are some red spot inside the pitcher and this should be the biggest difference from the x gentle, but repeat i'm not expert.

Thanks Picol. I was also hoping for an opinion on the slow release fertiliser in the potting soil but anyway, I'll replace it. There are reddish spots inside the pitcher. Here's a couple more photos giving an idea of the size of pitcher and the inside of it. Thanks again for your input.

cp_n_17030201.jpg

cp_n_17030202.jpg

Looks like a x Miranda to me, if there is fertiliser in the medium i would re-pot it as this can cause issues. A weak orchid fertilizer as a foliar feed is sufficient for nepenthes as they are bad at taking up nutrients via the roots.

Hope this helps :)

Thanks TCurrel. Funnily enough, the advice on the tag that was on the plant said not to give it fertiliser. However, the soil was full of it. The nursery that produced it doesn't seem too good at taking its own advice.

1 person likes this

Posted (edited)