Ping recommendations

Richard

Hi all, whilst I'm not new to CP in general I am new to Pings. Never really grew anything more than a couple of species before.

At the moment I have a P x Tina flowering it's little head off in my greenhouse and I can't help but think I'd like a few more!

What species can people recommend. My greenhouse is heated and minimum temperature recorded has been 4.9*c. Preferably I'd enjoy species that will throw up a flower or two in winter, but would also welcome recommendations for any species that can survive at this minimum temperature.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Hi!!! You can grow all mexican pinguiculas (that could flower either in winter)... pinguicula gigantea is my favourite one of mexicans, because it produces carnivorous leaves even in winter rosette and it produces dew in both sides of leaves... You can also grow in those conditions temperate (alpina, grandiflora, vulgaris...) and warm temperate pinguiculas (lusitanica, primuliflora, lutea, planifolia...)... temperate pinguiculas, in winter, produce hibernaculum... so, if You prefer winter flowers, they aren't the bests...

If You wants mexican ones, I suggest You a mineral substrat and no lot of water in winter... for temperate and warm temperates pinguiculas, You can always put 1 cm of water in tray, also in winter..

Good luck and, please, put some photos of Yours babies;-)

• Like 1

Hi!!! You can grow all mexican pinguiculas (that could flower either in winter)... pinguicula gigantea is my favourite one of mexicans, because it produces carnivorous leaves even in winter rosette and it produces dew in both sides of leaves... You can also grow in those conditions temperate (alpina, grandiflora, vulgaris...) and warm temperate pinguiculas (lusitanica, primuliflora, lutea, planifolia...)... temperate pinguiculas, in winter, produce hibernaculum... so, if You prefer winter flowers, they aren't the bests...